I was delighted this evening to be elected by colleagues to serve on Parliament’s Transport Committee:

The Transport Committee is charged by the House of Commons with scrutiny of the Department for Transport. Its formal remit was to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for Transport and its associated public bodies.

The Committee’s powers are the same as those for other departmental select committees as set out in Standing Order No.152: principally, to send for persons, papers and records, to appoint specialist advisers, to establish a sub-committee, and to meet and report from time to time.

The Committee is made up of eleven Members of Parliament, appointed by the House of Commons and drawn from the three largest political parties.

I look forward to fulfilling this role.

Comments are closed.